Christine Stuart file photo
The House Democrats released their list of committee assignments Friday completing the last bit of organizational business that needs to get done before the General Assembly can get down to business.

“Our leadership team reflects a vast spectrum of experience and expertise that will help us meet the challenges ahead and move our state forward,” House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz said. “Each of our committee chairs is excited about taking on the issues that come before them, and are prepared to work with every member to ensure we have a legislative session that helps improve the quality of life for everyone in Connecticut.” 

Like any new speaker, Aresimowicz rearranged the deck chairs.

Rep. Jeffrey Berger, D-Waterbury, is out as co-chair of the Finance, Revenue, and Bonding Committee and Rep. Jason Rojas, D-East Hartford, is in. Berger,who challenged Aresimowicz for his majority leader position in 2012, will be promoted to deputy speaker.

Rep. Robyn Porter, D-New Haven, will take over as co-chair of the Labor and Public Employees Committee. She takes over for Rep. Peter Tercyak, D-New Britain, who was named assistant deputy speaker.

Rep. Sean Scanlon, D-Guilford, will co-chair the Insurance and Real Estate Committee. He replaces Robert Megna of New Haven who didn’t seek re-election.

Rep. Dan Fox, D-Stamford, will co-chair the Government Administration and Elections Committee. He replaces Ed Jutila of Niantic who didn’t seek re-election.

Rep. William Tong, D-Stamford, will maintain his position as co-chairman of the Judiciary Committee. Rep. Matt Lesser, D-Middletown, will chair the Banks Committee.

Rep. Jonathan Steinberg, D-Westport, will take over as co-chair of the Public Health Committee for House Majority Leader Matt Ritter, D-Hartford.

Rep. Caroline Simmons, D-Stamford, will take over as co-chair of the Commerce Committee. She replaces Rep. Chris Perone, D-Norwalk, who was named assistant majority leader.

Rep. James Albis, D-East Haven, who won his election by a few votes, will no longer co-chair the Environment Committee and instead will help House Majority Leader Matt Ritter screen bills to be raised for a vote. Rep. Mike Demicco, D-Farmington, will co-chair the Environment Committee.

Rep. Roland Lemar, D-New Haven, will co-chair the Planning and Development Committee. He takes over for Rep. Phil Miller, D-Essex, who didn’t win re-election.

Rep. Joe Verrengia will replace Rep. Stephen Dargan of West Haven as co-chair of the Public Safety and Security Committee. Dargan resigned the day before the start of session to take a job with the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Click here for a complete list of House Democratic Committee assignments.