CTNj file photo

Registered Republicans statewide will be able to cast their votes in the Aug. 12 primary, but there are at least 20 other primaries for General Assembly seats and probate judgeships, according to Secretary of State Denise Merrill.

“It is important that voters are fully aware of the primaries taking place on August 12th,” Merrill said in a press release. “We in Connecticut have a number of open seats in our General Assembly on both sides of the aisle, and many candidates lining up to replace outgoing legislators.”

There will be statewide Republican primaries for governor, lieutenant governor, and comptroller. There will also be primaries for legislative seats, eight of which include Democratic incumbents.

The top three primaries are dominated by the Republican Party. At the top of the ticket, Republican-endorsed candidate Tom Foley, of Greenwich, will run against Senate Minority Leader John P. McKinney of Fairfield. The winner of that primary will go up against Democratic Gov. Dannel Malloy and possibly third-party challengers Joe Visconti and Jonathan Pelto on Nov. 4.

In the race for lieutenant governor, state Rep. Penny Bacchiochi, the convention-endorsed candidate, is being challenged by former Groton Mayor Heather Bond Somers and former U.S. Comptroller General David M. Walker, who is running with McKinney.

Democrats have four primaries to settle nominations for state Senate. Three involve challenges to incumbents in urban districts where the primary is generally thought of as the election since there is rarely a Republican opponent in November.

Democrats also have nine primaries to pick nominees in House districts, five of which involve incumbents: Reps. Douglas McCrory of Hartford, Christina Ayala of Bridgeport, Bruce Morris of Norwalk, Chris Perone of Norwalk, and Linda A. Orange of Colchester.

“I encourage registered Democrats and Republicans to find out about the candidates and make their voices heard on primary day by casting ballots,” Merrill said. “Critical issues such as our economy and our state budget are at stake and will be impacted by the decisions made by those we choose to represent us in Hartford.” 

While registered voters can cast their vote anywhere from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the day of the primary, the more than 800,000 unaffiliated voters in Connecticut would need to register with a party by noon on Monday, Aug. 11, in order to participate in the primary.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 12, 2014 (* denotes party endorsed candidate):

*Thomas C. Foley
John P. McKinney

Lieutenant Governor
*Penny Bacchiochi
Heather Somers
David M. Walker

*Sharon J. McLaughlin
Angel Cadena

State Senate – 2
*Shawn Wooden
Eric D. Coleman
Len Walker

State Senate – 20
*Elizabeth B. Ritter
William L. Satti

State Senate – 22
*Anthony J. Musto
Marilyn Moore

State Senate – 23
*Andres Ayala, Jr.
Scott Hughes

Assembly District – 7
*Douglas McCrory
Donna Thompson-Daniel

Assembly District – 23
*Devin R. Carney
Vicki Lanier

Assembly District – 32
*Kathleen G. Richards
Anthony “Tony” Salvatore

Assembly District – 44
*Christine Rosati
Michael Cartier

Assembly District – 47
No Endorsement
Doug Dubitsky
Noah Enslow
Michael P. Meadows

Assembly District – 48
*Linda A. Orange
Jason Paul

Assembly District – 64
*Brian Ohler
Mark Lauretano

Assembly District – 122
*Ben McGorty
Michael C. Vickerelli

Assembly District – 124
*Ernie Newton
Andre Baker

Assembly District – 128
*Christopher Rosario
Christina Ayala
Dennis Bradley
Teresa Davidson

Assembly District – 133
*Cristin McCarthy Vahey
Matt Waggner

Assembly District – 137
*David Watts
Chris Perone

Assembly District – 140
*Bruce Morris
Warren Pena

Assembly District – 142
*Emily Wilson
Fred Wilms

Probate District Plainfield – Killingly – 27
*Andrea Truppa
Anna Zubkova

Probate District Madison – Guilford – 34
*William Bilcheck
Gail S. Kotowski