CTNJ file photo

There will be primaries in 22 municipalities in Connecticut today.

From Republican primaries for first selectman in Bethel and town council in Enfield and Cromwell to Democratic Board of Education seats in Bridgeport and Democratic primaries for mayor in New Haven and Stamford — there are a wide variety of local seats up for grabs. Just two years ago in 2011 there were primaries in just 11 cities and towns.

But it’s a party primary, so unaffiliated voters won’t have a chance to vote today unless they’re registered with a political party. Connecticut has a closed primary system, which means only members who belong to a political party can vote. Candidates who emerge victorious today will go on to challenge unaffiliated and petitioning candidates or members of the opposite party in the November election.

“It is very important to go out and vote today, because local government is where critical decisions are made regarding local schools, roads, the environment and in general the future of our communities,” Secretary of the State Denise Merrill said.  “These primaries will choose Democratic and Republican general election candidates for November, and we have some very interesting races at the municipal level this year. We have our phone and email hotline up and running should any voter encounter a problem at the polls. Make sure your voice is heard and that you exercise your right to choose the future leaders of your community.”

Merrill released the following list of primaries taking place today across the state:

Bethel: Republican for First Selectman, Selectman, Police Commission

Bozrah : Democrat, town clerk

Bridgeport: Democrat for common council districts 132-1, 132-2, 135-1, 135-2, 135-3, 136-1, 136-2, 136-3, 137-1, 137-2, board of education

Cromwell: Republican, town council

East Haven: Democrat, mayor, town council districts 1-5, board of education, board of finance

Enfield: Republican: Councilman at Large

Haddam: Republican and Democrat, town clerk

Killingworth: Republican, first selectman, selectman, town clerk, town treasurer, board of finance, board of assessment appeals, planning and zoning commission, ZBA fire commission, Reg. Bd of Ed-2yr. Vacancy

Lisbon: Republican, board of education

Middletown: Democrat, planning and zoning commission

Milford: Democrat, board of education

New Haven: Democrat, mayor, city clerk, alderman districts 2, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 19, 20, 22, 26, 27

North Haven: Democrat, selectman

Norwalk: Democrat, mayor

Norwich: Democrat, mayor

Sherman: Democrat, selectman

South Windsor: Republican, town council

Stratford: Democrat, mayor and council 3

Stamford: Democrat, mayor and board of representatives districts 6, 13

Stamford: Republican, mayor and board of representatives districts 13, 18

Torrington: Democrat, mayor

West Haven: Democrat, mayor, treasurer, tax collector, board of education, board of assessment appeals, council at large and council districts 1-10

Woodbury: Republican, first selectman

Polls will be open 6 a.m. until 8 p.m. For more information on how to find your polling place and where to vote visit the Secretary of the State’s website at www.sots.ct.gov and go to Elections and Voting tab at the top, and then click on the “Where Do I Vote?” button.